Franciscan image
Francis of Assisi Franciscan Resources The Order -- Rome The Friars -- USA Contact Us  
Vocations Prayer Requests Franciscan Poetry Favorite Sites Peace & Justice Our Guestbook

  Life of St. Francis
  Selected Readings
  Writings St.Francis
  San Damiano Cross
  Blessing of Animals
  Prayers St. Francis
  Prayers - St. Anthony
  Franciscan Devotions
Marian Devotions
Holy Rosary
GENERAL..imagesblu_gry.gif (541 bytes) Franciscan
Crown Rosary
Meditations Reflections
Short Form Stations of
the Cross

Long Form Stations of
the Cross

Novena St.Francis
Novena St.Anthony
Sacred Heart
Psalms of Inspiration
Christmas Crib
   St.Clare of Assisi
   Prayer Book
   Little Flowers
   Of Saint Francis
   The Portiuncula
   Franciscan Calendar  of Saints & Blesseds
  The Transitus

Franciscan Crown Rosary

"Let the brothers and sisters keep the example of the Blessed Virgin Mary, the Mother of God and of Our Lord Jesus Christ, ever before their eyes. Let them do this according to the exhortation of St. Francis who held Holy Mary, Lady and Queen, in highest veneration, since she is the virgin made church. Let them also remember that the immaculate Virgin Mary, whose example they are to follow, called herself the handmaid of the Lord."




Do not fear, Mary, for you have favor with God. Behold, you will conceive and bear a son, and shall name him Jesus. Luke 1:30-31

From the very beginning, Christians continued the Jewish tradition of praying and singing the 150 psalms as part of their sacred routine of daily prayer.

By the Middle Ages, however, a largely illiterate population could neither appreciate the historical events to which the psalms referred, nor could they memorize and recite the psalms in Latin.

Therefore, in the early 13th century a scriptural meditation was thoughtfully adapted for those who desired to participate in the sanctification of daily life through a cycle of prayer meant to complement the Divine Office chanted by the more educated monks and nuns.

What became known as the rosary was the recitation of the Aves and Paters (the Our Father and Hail Mary) that were counted off on a ring of beads numbering 150. The mysteries of the New Testament were meditated upon within this "mirror" of the 150 Old Testament psalms. Hence, Salvation History itself permeated this simple method of prayer. The repetition allowed for a rhythmic breathing, leading the participant to an inner realm of peace and calm. The rosary eventually became a favored personal devotion among many people, including the learned laity and religious.

The name rosary was derived from the rose, a flower having a great depth of symbolism. One of the spiritual titles given to the Virgin Mary, Mystical Rose, referred to her womb as the developing flower of Christ the Savior. Moreover, the patient unfolding of the five concentric petals of the rose was likened to our own patient mastery of the five senses, the integration of all the creative and life-communicating energies of a human person. Yet the blossoming of the spiritual life could only be achieved and maintained by the defensive "thorn" of daily perseverance.

Through the centuries the Dominican Order has been very influential in the promotion of the rosary as we know it today. Other religious communities also developed and practiced their own particular form of this prayer.

The Franciscan rosary, or as it is properly called, The Franciscan Crown, dates to the early part of the 15th century. At that time a young man who found spiritual joy in weaving a crown of wild flowers for a beautiful statue of Mary decided to enter the Franciscan Order. After entering the community, however, he was saddened when he no longer found the time to gather flowers for his personal devotion. One evening, while feeling tempted to abandon his vocation, he received a vision of the Blessed Virgin Mary. The Virgin Mother encouraged the young novice to persevere by reminding him of the joyfulness of the Franciscan spirit. She also instructed him to meditate daily on seven joyful events from her own life as a new form of the rosary. Instead of a crown of flowers, the novice would now weave a crown of prayers. Before long, many other Franciscans began to pray the Crown and soon it spread to the entire Order, becoming officially established in 1422.

In addition to developing this Marian devotion, the Franciscans are credited with adding the final words to the Hail Mary, Holy Mary, Mother of God, pray for us sinners now and at the hour of our death. In 1263, Saint Bonaventure, Minister General of the Order, encouraged liturgical devotion honoring the mystery of the Visitation. Saint Bonaventure also popularized the daily triple recitation of the Angelus which it is believed Saint Francis initiated after visiting the Holy Land. Francis was deeply impressed by the Muslim practice of stopping to pray several times a day, and desired to Christianize this pious custom. A Franciscan pope, Sixtus IV (1471-1485), introduced the feast of the Immaculate Conception and the feast of Saint Joseph as husband of Mary. He also issued the first papal pronouncement encouraging the rosary as in invaluable instrument of personal and societal conversion.

Taken from The Franciscan Crown
a beautiful booklet available in most Catholic Book stores
Courtesy of
The Franciscan Friars of Marytown

How to say the Crown Rosary

A Journey of Faith: The Seven Joys of Mary

By Father Thomas Bourque, T.O.R.
Most Sacred Heart of Jesus Province, USA - Loretto, PA.

1.    The Franciscan Crown consists of seven decades of Hail Mary's, each   preceded by an Our Father and followed by a Glory Be.  

2.    The Crown recalls the seven joys of Mary and how she responded to the   grace of God in her life.

3.    It begins with the sign of the cross which is then followed by seven decades, each consisting of one Our Father, ten Hail Mary's and one Glory Be.

4.    At the end of the seven decades, there are two additional Hail Mary's, bringing the total of Hail Mary's to 72 years.

5.    The Crown is concluded by praying one Our Father and one Hail Mary for the intentions of the Pope.

Below is presented a reflection and meditation on the Franciscan Crown, entitled, A JOURNEY OF FAITH: THE SEVEN JOYS OF MARY. The reflection studies each of the joys of Mary by beginning with one's openness to SCRIPTURE.

As the joys of the Franciscan Crown are pondered, one is invited to listen to the Word of God and to be open to the gift of the Holy Spirit.

For each joy, a gift of the Holy Spirit has been given for study and reflection.

These seven gifts challenge each individual to live a graced-filled and moral life. They allow one to reflect on the grace and strength Mary had in responding to her call and relationship with God.

The reflection offers questions for meditation and ends with a prayer taken from the prayer of the Church.